Boo!

The daily dose of a Daily Prompt by the Daily Post.

Describe the last nightmare you remember having. What do you think it meant?

So I’m 22, turning 23 in a few months and the last nightmare I had was last night about…

MONSTERS.

Laugh all you want because I know it’s funny. It’s not the Boogeyman. But it’s the “Aswang“, a mythical creature from an old Filipino folklore. I had this kind of dream the second time around. The first time was about it wanting to get me but then this time around, it’s after a college friend of mine. I don’t even know why it should be that person, and the thing is I’m helping him get out of it and kill the monster because from my first dream, I recall that I was able to defeat it.

I know in the other side of the world that you guys are laughing (this laughing thing, I’m pointing it very much because it’s okay. Really!). I’m laughing about it myself, but when you are stuck in a dream with some ugly creature chasing and wanting to get you, or probably eat you then I have no other desire but to wake up which is hard to do at that moment. Credits to myself, I was pretty brave back at my dream (I’m fully armed with a baseball bat. Haha!).

What it meant? I really don’t know how to decipher such dreams because I am just recalling what I was feeling at that time. Good thing there are dream interpreters in our trusty Google.

From BellaOnline

In adults, monsters can represent fear or overwhelming emotional issues. Many adults with terminal illnesses dream of monsters chasing them. For these people, the monster represents death. Dreaming of monsters can also symbolize stressful situations such as mounting bills or an overload of work. Take a look at what’s been bothering you. Have you been avoiding your problems? It may be time to face them head on.

Dreaming of slaying a monster represents victory. Reflect upon how you killed the monster in your dream. This may provide a clue as to how you can slay your demons in waking life.” –although, I don’t know if we were able slay the aswang.

From Dream Moods

Chase dreams are one of several common dream themes, stemming from feelings of anxiety in your waking life. Flee and flight is an instinctive response to a physical threat in the environment. In such dreams, the scenario often features you being pursued by an attacker, an animal, a monster or an unknown figure, who wants to hurt or possibly kill you. Consequently, you run, you hide or you try to outwit your pursuer. Your actions in the dream parallel how you would respond to pressure and cope with fears, stress or various situations in your waking life. Instead of confronting the situation, your dream indicates that you have a tendency to run away and avoid the issue…”

“The pursuer or attacker who is chasing you in your dream may also represent an aspect of yourself. Your own feelings of anger, jealousy, fear, and possibly love, can manifest itself as the threatening figure. Or the shadowy figure can symbolize the rejected characteristics of your Self. You may be projecting these feelings onto the unknown chaser. Next time you have a dream of being chased, turn around and confront your pursuer. Ask them why they are chasing you. What are you trying to run from?” –well apparently, I cannot confront a monster and ask why it’s chasing us (or my friend, at that moment).

After reading these interpretations, I think I might have been feeling anxious about things since I’m having a hard time dealing with my thesis (and all the parents’ issues with this situation I’m having) because it’s been our 3rd time changing it. Haha! My thesis is a monster. It makes sense. But I really don’t know why my friend is involved in my dream, and even more I’m helping him get rid of the creature, since he’s already finished with his.

Fingers crossed that I may dream a happy dream tonight.

6 responses to “Boo!

  1. Pingback: Steel Walls and Rivets « Cheri Speak·

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Nightmares … what’s it got to do with a female horse? | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34·

  3. Pingback: I Live In Oz, But Visit Kansas For My Dreams | The Jittery Goat·

  4. Pingback: DREAM ASYLUM ANALYSIS « hastywords·

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Nightmares – Flash Fiction / Short Story / Poem – “The Ghost of Poe” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)·

  6. Pingback: The Story of a Recurring Nightmare | Beyond Beauty Tips·

Leave a Reply

