That First Time

The daily dose of a Daily Prompt by the Daily Post.

When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

T.G.I. Friday’s is where I felt like a grown up. It was when I started to treat my family out to dinner and buy them things for the first time. It’s when I got my first salary– well, not actually. It’s my first allowance at my internship.

Not only by treating them out to dinner did I felt like a grown up but in a sense, I feel like I am now being independent even in little ways. That I don’t always have to ask my parents for money but also by hard work and perseverance, I can achieve anything and make life better for me and my family.

That first money I got on my own is like a sign that I can go further and that I can be responsible enough to fulfill not only what I want but also what I need, and what my family needs. Earning something from other people also means that I can be depended on (even I’m still a student) with things that will take effect on the company itself. It is the start of a new responsibility, a start of a new life.

Leave a Reply

