Dead Branch

The daily dose of a Daily Prompt by the Daily Post.

Tell us about something you’ve tried to quit. Did you go cold turkey, or for gradual change? Did it stick?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us THE END.

“Sometimes we just have to cut off the dead branches in our life. Sometimes that’s the only way we can keep the tree alive. It’s hard and it hurts, but it’s what’s best.” ― Nicole WilliamsLost and Found

I’ve am (still) trying to quit making up with a friend (probably ex-friend now). I know it’s somewhat rude but because things keep on happening, you never really get the chance to talk about each conflict you had. I was putting all my effort into approaching her or saying sorry for my part that she might not understand, but never did I imagine that it’ll take up a whole lot of effort  and without knowing up to how far I’d be going to keep on making up with her. Our friends have tried talking to her, my parents told me that I should just let her go. But being friends with someone is special to me and I really don’t like the idea of me letting her down.

However, there always comes a time when you get tired of being the only one doing something to get back to how the way it was before. I feel I should give up and I really am trying, but when our group of friends get-together, like for Christmas (I even gave her a gift), it has been awkward towards the both of us and to our friends. Now, I am still figuring out what to do. I want to leave with no strings attached to her but how could that be when we spent our college years together? Let’s just say that that dead branch is still affecting me and I can’t cut it just like that.

7 responses to “Dead Branch

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happy Endings | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss·

  2. Pingback: Happy End To Shopping This Morning | Lisa's Kansa Muse·

  3. Pingback: Why it’s better to never start in the first place: | Rob's Surf Report·

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happy Endings | Everyday Adventures·

  5. Pingback: To the Sweetest | The Shotgun Girls·

Leave a Reply

