For Better Readings

The daily dose of a Daily Prompt by the Daily Post.

If you could wake up tomorrow and be fluent in any language you don’t currently speak, which would it be? Why? What’s the first thing you do with your new linguistic skills?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TONGUE.

The Latin language would probably the one I would love to be fluent in the most. Of course I would also love to speak French and Japanese but I love how this language seems old and regal. Latin has had a significant influence in the formation of English at all stages of its insular development and has also been used in most philosophical, scientific, and other academic discipline making it a huge part of our education. I feel that in learning and speaking the language, I could easily understand (scientific) terms that I find difficult to comprehend, relay how an art or poetry is created.

The study of Latin is also the study of history, art, music,
theatre, philosophy, law, literature, laboratory science, ‘and
more!
– Teresa Hudkins,
Willamette University

…and I would seem to be a very bright kid if I knew how to speak Latin. haha!

I was always fascinated about history and tend to read a lot of books when I was a kid. The one thing I didn’t like about it was that the pictures indicating some Latin words I don’t even know how to read, so if I know now how to speak Latin I’d look back to the previous readings that I skipped. I also believe that learning the language could help me develop a more abstract and/or analytic thinking and that can help me with a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

