Continue?

The daily dose of a Daily Prompt by the Daily Post.

Tell us about the time you threw down the gauntlet and drew the proverbial line in the sand by giving someone an ultimatum. If you’ve never handed out an ultimatum but secretly wanted to, describe the scene and what you would say to put an end (one way or another) to an untenable situation.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us COMPLEX.

“Do you still want to continue this?”

Fighting sometimes over the little things is not really the ideal relationship I’ve had in mind. I never had the guts to end it so in one situation where he doesn’t talk to me for three days, I question him. This was the first time he did not speak to me because of a stupid paper that I wrote and I did not want him to see it because it’s full of doodles and hearts with his name! But of course I think boys his kind wouldn’t really understand stuff like that considering he told me I was selfish.

It was not then I asked him this that I thought he didn’t care about us and so I told him about what was in the paper,  that he can choose whatever he wants without me having any say and then I walked away. And then he followed me, hugged me after one of my class (which he never does so openly) and said sorry. We were okay then.

I never really want to give ultimatums and such but time flies and eventually it becomes so hard to see and notice that your other half doesn’t seem to be putting an effort in your relationship. That in the 2 years, you were still acting immature with each other. Every time you are together it seems strained, most especially if you wanted to hold hands and you notice that the other person lets go easily. That when you wait for his class to end and you told him that you will be meeting him at your usual place, he didn’t show up and did not even bother to text you that he went home already. You just knew because you passed by his room and see no one. That was the last straw.

I opened my phone, texted him and told that if he was still considerate enough he would’ve told me and not let me wait for hours. I was texting while having my final exam because I was really mad.

“Do you still want to continue this?”

“Do you still want me or not? Do you still love me or not?”

“If you want to end this then at least do it with some respect”

No reply.

And then the next day, I knew. We’re done. With a Facebook status of him saying he saw this girl he was crushing for sometime, and acting all smitten by it.

I guess he’s not really in to giving ultimatums as well when he had a chance.

 

 

Leave a Reply

