DIY: Sugar Wax

So this was just out of the blue and since I haven’t had my underarms waxed yet (yes I know, sorry for not being the girly-girl), I’m trying this way of hair removal called Sugaring. It’s a good alternative if you don’t want spending on wax salons. After a few scrolls in Pinterest, I found this really great recipe from TipNut so I’d probably be copying mostly from it since there’s no easier way to put it.

Sugaring, sugar waxing or Persian waxing (according to wiki) is a method of hair removal that has been in use since 1900 BC. Sugaring is often compared to standard waxing. During the process, a sugaring substrate sticks to and essentially removes hair without attaching to the skin. The substrate can be applied at room temperature or heated to a lukewarm temperature, minimizing the risk of burns. For this reason, sugaring is generally preferred over waxing when it comes to removing hair from larger areas of skin.

Materials:

  • Candy thermometer (to measure temperature while mixture is heating)
  • 1″ strips of cotton fabric (about 8″ to 10″ in length)
  • Wooden popsicle sticks or spatula
  • Glass bowl
  • Glass jar (for keeping)

069edited

There are two ways to do this, which I call the Stove version and the Microwave version and since I don’t have a candy thermometer with me, I did the microwave version which is probably easier with just a push of a button. If you want the Stove version just click on the tipnut link above.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar

075edited

  • 1/4 cup honey

077edited

  • juice from one half lemon (freshly squeezed)

079edited

Directions:

Combine items in a large glass bowl then heat in the microwave for two minutes, stopping every 20 to 30 seconds to stir. Once it’s finished cooking, allow to cool down a bit before pouring into a glass canning jar and letting it rest till it’s at room temperature.

080edited 081edited

Once it’s finished cooking, allow to cool down a bit before pouring into a glass canning jar and letting it rest till it’s at room temperature. And ta-dahh! Our very own Sugar Wax.

083edited

How To Apply:

  • Lightly dust the surface with cornstarch and rub it in. Lightly is key, this will help protect the skin a bit so the paste doesn’t stick to it as much (helping lessen the pain).
  • Using the popsicle stick, slather on a thin layer in the direction of the growth then cover with cotton strips (do in batches of 3 or 4 until the entire area is covered). Rub the fabric a few times firmly (in the direction of the growth).
  • Let it sit for about a minute then pull skin tight with one hand and rip each strip off quickly with the other (in the opposite direction of the growth). Reapply as needed (can reheat if it gets too cool).

Tips:

  • Hair should be at least 1/4″ so the mix/paste has something to really grab onto.
  • Hand wash the strips in warm soapy water, dry and reuse them again and again. Muslin or diaper flannel work well.
  • Careful to avoid growths such as skin tags, warts and moles. Also avoid applying on top of stretch marks, abrasions, scrapes or cuts, scar tissue, delicate area around the eyes, rashes and varicose veins.
  • Seal any leftovers in the jar and refrigerate to use later (simply reheat).
  • If paste is too hard to work with, add a spoonful of water and reheat in the microwave for a minute or so until it’s hot. Stir then allow to cool as above.

My Experience:

I didn’t use this after I made it. After cooling, I placed it in the refrigerator and took it out 2 days after. Reheated using a microwave for 50 seconds because I’m not sure if my jar is microwavable. I was hesitant to cut up strips of cotton cloth because I’m using it sometimes, so I just stuck the whole cloth on my underarm. And due to the principles of physics/mechanics (yes, I’m nerding out on you) and cornstarch, removing the wax didn’t hurt. It might also be nice to put slightly more cornstarch because my underarms were red and there were a bit of blood dots involved. I just wiped it though and after a few minutes it’s back to normal.

Let me know how this works out for you and please do suggest other DIYs you’d like me to work on 🙂

One response to “DIY: Sugar Wax

Leave a Reply

