Up For Some Sharing?

When I was a kid, my sister and I usually make our own greeting cards for every occasion that we know. Most especially my parents’ birthday because I’m a kid with no money to spend on things that I don’t know they would like. I’ve probably used every material I can think of to create them (e.g. dried leaves). Now that I can actually give gifts that they might use, they tell us sometimes that they miss getting those cards but I’m having that imagination withdrawal with those kinds of things now.

Scrolling on my deviantArt messages, I stumbled upon this post regarding Holiday Cards. DeviantArt is a community of artists and those devoted to art. I clicked it, read it, and now I’ve decided to join its 8th Holiday Card Project. The idea behind the Holiday Card Project is simple: do something nice for others. This is a good idea for some bonding with friends and family because really, what better gifts can you give better than personalized ones? And to think that the receiving end are those who are in hospital stay. For current members, you’ll be given a free one-month premium membership. But really guys, I think that’s just a bonus not something really to be the goal itself. This is about giving and sharing your talents to people who need lots of positive vibes in them especially during this Christmas season.

It is important though to keep your messages cheerful and positive. Stay away from phrases like “Get well soon” and “Hope you’re feeling better,” as it might not be appropriate for all patients. And of course, be sure to include messages like “Happy Holidays” since it is for the holidays. There are no limitations to how many cards you should send so this means you can put those creative juices to maximum use but all cards should be received by December 17, 2014.

Please use the following address:

deviantART, Inc.
Holiday Card Project
7095 Hollywood Blvd., #788
Hollywood, CA 90028
U.S.A.

Anyone can participate but for members, be sure to include your deviantART username on a separate piece of paper when mailing in a holiday card. To ensure that you successfully receive your free Premium Membership, it is vitally important that your username be written legibly.

I’ll be posting my cards with you soon! I’m giving myself a deadline until December 7 (fingers crossed!) and with this maybe I would finally be inspired to do some again for my ‘rents even though it would feel a bit cheesy and awkward since I’m all grown up now. Haha!

For more details, click HERE

Leave a Reply

